Cookie:

Marketing Toolset and Technological Foundation | PLATFORM

Challenges in the Jungle of Technological Systems

In the course of the digitalization and automation of marketing communication and its underlying processes, the use of marketing technologies and systems is increasingly becoming an important topic for CMOs and marketing managers. Systems already in use such as data warehouses (DWH), product information management systems (PIM), digital asset management systems (DAM), content management systems (CMS), customer relationship management systems (CRM) and marketing automation suites (MAS) are being re-evaluated and questioned. At the same time, new technological trends in marketing and enhancements of known systems are loudly advertised in the media.

What remains are uncertainties like:

  • Are our current sales & marketing tools still up to date and future-proof to meet our goals?
  • Do our systems need to be extended / renewed / replaced?
  • Where and how high is the optimization potential for the use of new, previously unused technologies?
  • Which new systems meet our specific requirements? Which suppliers can provide us with the most suitable systems?
  • How can a new tool be best integrated into our work processes?
  • How can current and future systems be aligned in the sense of a seamless customer experience?

Since the decision to use a new technology is often cost-intensive in terms of acquisition and complex in terms of implementation, these questions should be answered in a structured way, based on the company's individual marketing and sales strategy. As such, expensive and ineffective mispurchases can be avoided.

Benefits and Future Relevant Use Cases of Marketing Tools

By answering the questions above in a structured manner and selecting the appropriate technologies for your marketing organization, you can increase both, the internal efficiency and external effectiveness of marketing. Among the most common reasons for a technological change in marketing are:

External increase in effectiveness:

  • Development and implementation of seamless customer experiences across all customer relevant touch points and sales funnel phases
  • Possibility to implement personalized marketing communication for campaigns, service offers or for cross- and upselling
  • Enhancement of the brand experience through new customer benefits in the digital space

Internal efficiency increase:

  • Automation of marketing processes (e.g. in the campaign playout)
  • Implementation of automated pricing
  • Development of a comprehensive Customer Insights-database by linking customer knowledge from different touchpoints
  • Optimization of internal marketing and sales processes (e.g. in the data-based preparation of customer meetings)

Procedure for Determining the Appropriate Technologies and Systems

In order to decide on the best possible technological basis for the marketing organization, it is important to identify the specific technical requirements. This helps to select appropriate solutions from the wealth of technical possibilities which keep the customer in mind.

In terms of project procedure, we recommend the implementation of a detailed analysis of needs. In this analysis, the future marketing of a company is examined from four demand-relevant perspectives: the specific market and customer requirements, the company goals and respective technical requirements.

Our approach focuses on the development of application-oriented, realisable use cases. Based on the market analysis, technical trends (step 1), the developing needs of relevant customer groups (step 2) together with internal goals can be used to formulate specific use cases to the future marketing (step 3). Use cases summarize customer-centric actions through their goals, their customer context and their technical requirements. The consolidation of all defined use cases leads into an overall requirements folder, which is "translated" into technical requirements and used to select systems and system providers (step 4). Together with our customers, we provide neutral support for effective and efficient system integration.

Are you interested in talking to us about your marketing organization and goals, as well as their supporting technological systems? We are happy to assist you with our professional expertise and many years of practical experience. We look forward to your inquiry!

Contact:

Cookie:

Marketing Toolset und technologisches Fundament | PLATFORM

Herausforderungen im Dschungel der technologischen Systeme

Im Zuge der Digitalisierung und Automatisierung der Marketingkommunikation und deren zugrundliegender Prozesse, wird der Einsatz von Marketingtechnologien und -systemen immer mehr zum wichtigen Thema für CMOs und Marketingverantwortliche. Dabei werden die bereits genutzten Systeme wie Data Warehouses (DWH), Produktinformationsmanagementsysteme (PIM), Digital-Asset-Managementsysteme (DAM), Contentmanagement-Systeme (CMS), Customer Relationship Management Systeme (CRM) und Marketing Automation Suites (MAS) neu evaluiert und hinterfragt.  Zeitgleich werden neue technologische Trends im Marketing und Erweiterungen bekannter Systeme lautstark in den Medien beworben.

Was bleibt, sind Unsicherheiten wie:

  • ­Sind unsere heutigen Sales & Marketing Tools noch zeit- und zukunftsgerecht, um unsere Ziele zu erfüllen?
  • ­ Müssen unsere Systeme erweitert / erneuert / ersetzt werden?
  • Wo und wie hoch sind die Optimierungspotenziale für den Einsatz neuer, bisher ungenutzter Technologien?
  • Welche neuen Systeme entsprechen unserer spezifischen Bedarfssituation? Welche Anbieter können uns die passendsten Systeme liefern?
  • Wie kann ein neues Tool bestmöglich in die Arbeitsabläufe integriert werden?
  • Wie können heutige und zukünftige Systeme im Sinne einer nahtlosen Customer Experience verknüpft werden?

Da die Entscheidung für den Einsatz einer neuen Technologie häufig kostenintensiv in der Anschaffung und aufwendig in der Implementierung sind, sollten diese Fragen strukturiert und auf Basis der individuellen Marketing- und Vertriebsstrategie des Unternehmens beantwortet werden. Dadurch können teure, ineffektive Fehlkäufe vermieden werden.

Nutzen und zukunftsrelevante Use Cases von Marketing Tools

Durch die strukturierte Beantwortung der oben gestellten Fragen und die Auswahl der passenden Technologien für die eigene Marketingorganisation kann sowohl die interne Effizienz des Marketing als auch die externe Effektivität gesteigert werden. Zu den häufigsten Gründen für einen Technologiewandel im Marketing zählen:

Externe Effektivitätssteigerung:

  • Entwicklung und Umsetzung von nahtlosen Customer Experiences über alle vom Kunden gewählten Touchpoints und Sales Funnel-Phasen
  • Möglichkeit der Implementierung von personalisierter Marketingkommunikation für Kampagnen, Leistungsangebote oder zum Cross- und Upselling
  • Erweiterung der Markenerfahrung durch neue Kundennutzen im digitalen Raum

Interne Effizienzerhöhung:

  • ­Automatisierung von Marketingprozessen (z.B. in der Kampagnenausspielung)
  • Umsetzung von automatisiertem Pricing
  • Entwicklung einer umfassenden Customer Insights-Datenbasis durch die Verknüpfung von Kundenwissen aus unterschiedlichen Touchpoints
  • Optimierung von internen Marketing- und Vertriebsprozessen (z.B. in der datenbasierten Vorbereitung von Kundengesprächen)

Vorgehen zur Ermittlung der passenden Technologien und Systeme

Um sich für die bestmögliche technologische Basis für die eigene Marketingorganisation zu entscheiden, ist es wichtig, den spezifischen technischen Bedarf zu identifizieren. Dieser hilft aus der Fülle der technischen Möglichkeiten sinnvolle Lösungen zu wählen, die den Kunden im Blick behalten.

Als Projektvorgehen empfehlen wir die Umsetzung einer detaillierten Bedarfsanalyse. In dieser wird das zukünftige Marketing eines Unternehmens aus vier bedarfsrelevanten Perspektiven betrachtet: der spezifischen Markt- und Kundenanforderungen, der Unternehmensziele und der darauf ableitbaren technischen Anforderungen.

Abbildung 1: Vorgehen zur Auswahl und Implementierung technischer Systeme

Unser Vorgehen zentriert sich dabei auf die Entwicklung anwendungsbezogener, umsetzbarer Use Cases. Auf Basis der Analyse des Marktes, technischer Trends (Schritt 1) sowie Bedarfsentwicklungen relevanter Kundengruppen (Schritt 2) können zusammen mit den internen Zielen spezifische Use Cases zum zukünftigen Marketing verfasst werden (Schritt 3). Use Cases fassen kundenzentrierte Aktionen in ihren Zielen, ihrem Kundenzusammenhang und ihren technischen Voraussetzungen zusammen. Durch die Konsolidierung aller definierten Use Cases entsteht eine gesamthafte Anforderungsmappe, die dann in technische Anforderungen „übersetzt“ und zur Auswahl von Systemen und Systemanbietern genutzt wird (Schritt 4).
Gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden unterstützen wir so neutral eine effektive und effiziente Systemintegration.

Haben Sie Interesse bekommen, mit uns über Ihre Marketingorganisation und -ziele, sowie deren unterstützende technologischen Systeme zu sprechen? Wir stehen Ihnen gerne mit unserer fachlichen Expertise und langjährigen praktischen Erfahrung zur Verfügung. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage!

Ihre Ansprechpartner: